In Search of Adventure and Moments of Bliss...

Welcome to my site!


photo of lois on her boat Pacific Bliss.

Lois Joy Hofmann is the author of, Maiden Voyage and Sailing the South Pacific, the first two books in a trilogy called In Search of Adventure and Moments of Bliss. Each book won first place in the travel category of the 2011 and 2013 San Diego Book Awards, respectively.

As an author, adventurer, and circumnavigator, I’ve had the incredible experience of reinventing and reimagining my life again and again and I want to share it with you. Hopefully, you can benefit from what I’ve learned.

After I retired from the helm of a publicly-held biomedical company, I had the opportunity to sail around the world for eight wonderful years on a 43-foot catamaran, Pacific Bliss, visiting 62 countries.  My return home to San Diego, California led to my second retirement reinvention: becoming an author.  I’ve written the first two books of a nautical trilogy called In Search of Adventure and Moments of Bliss and I’m working on the third. Each of the first two, Maiden Voyage and Sailing the South Pacific won First Place, Travel in the San Diego Book Awards. My third retirement reinvention is public speaking—yet another way for me to share my experiences and insights.

My husband Gunter and I still enjoy travel, albeit by more conventional means; for example, we visited Burma (Myanmar) in 2014 and took a two-week cruise down the Danube River in 2016.  We spend time as well in Balsam Lake, Wisconsin at a lake property called Northern Bliss that we use for family reunions and retreats. There, I enjoy gardening and photography. I write about travel as well as these current passions in my blog, Sailors Tales.
Visit me on Instagraminstagram_app_small_25pix


I appreciate your feedback about my adventures, my books, my blog and this website. Please do contact me.

Thanks for coming and I hope you enjoyed the visit. And always remember to pursue your passions and to live your dreams.

Author, Adventurer, Circumnavigator,

Lois Joy


In Search of Adventure and Moments of Bliss

Maiden Voyage and Sailing the South Pacific are the first two books of the nautical trilogy In Search of Adventure and Moments of Bliss.